• Parish church of Saint Roch

    Churches and shrines

Parish church of Saint Roch

Resorts: Lillianes


Built on the foundations of an old chapel dating back to 1490, the new Parish Chruch of Saint Roch was completed in 1723.
The interior of the parish church is quite large, it has three naves, separated by two rows of stone pillars. The main altar is Baroque, created in 1763 by the sculptor J.B. Gilardi and his son Giuseppe, it is a veritable sculpture masterpiece. There are no less than four side altars, they too are in Baroque style, in gilded wood, you can also admire some statues dedicated to Saint Joseph, Saint Anthony and Saint Vergine. The bust on the altar is commemorative of the bishop of Aosta, Giovanni Battista Jans (1764-1847), a native of Lillianes. The stone portal has a gothic “goccia rovesciata” motif (meaning upturned drop). The cemetery stands alongside the church.

See also

Cultural itineraries
Fontainemore - Farettaz village

The lower Lys Valley: from Pont-Saint-Martin to Fontainemore

** Valle d'Aosta **

How: by car. Recommended duration: one day. Recommended period: all year round. Length: about 18 km. An itinerary to discover the lower part of the Lys Valley, ancient domain of the lords of Vallaise between Piedmont and the Aosta Valley. At Pont-Saint- …